South African Young Academy of Science



New SAYAS Members 2021

Prof David Lokhat, is an Associate Professor in the School of Engineering at the University of KwaZulu-Natal.

Field(s) of Specialisation – Chemical Reaction Engineering, Process Intensification

Dr Joshua Edokpayi, is a Senior Lecturer at the Department of Earth Sciences from the University of Venda, South Africa.

Field(s) of Specialisation – Environmental Sciences (Water Resource Management; Environmental pollution and Monitoring, Environmental and Public Health).

Prof Kapil Gupta, is an Associate Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Technology at the University of Johannesburg.

Field(s) of Specialisation – Advanced Manufacturing.

Dr Michelle Lochner, is a Senior Lecturer/Principal Investigator for the Rubin Observatory with a joint position between the University of the Western Cape and the South African Radio Astronomy Observatory.

Field(s) of Specialisation – Astronomy and cosmology, machine learning.

Prof Monnye Mabelebele, is an Associate Professor in the Department of Agriculture and Animal Health at the University of South Africa.

Field(s) of Specialisation – Animal Science: Animal Nutrition and Health.

Dr Moshawe Jack Madito, is the Senior Lecturer in the Institute for Nanotechnology and Water Sustainability (iNanoWS) at the University of South Africa.

Field(s) of Specialisation – Advanced Electrochemical Capacitors for Energy Management, nanocomposites, Nuclear Materials and Solid State Interactions.

Dr Natisha Dukhi, is a Senior Research Specialist at the Human Sciences Research Council in South Africa.

Field(s) of Specialisation – Public Health, Health Promotion, Nutrition, child and adolescent health.

Prof Nnamdi Nwulu, is a Professor of Electrical Engineering and the Director of the Centre for Cyber Physical Food, Energy & Water Systems (CCP-FEWS) at the University of Johannesburg.

Field(s) of Specialisation – Food, Energy & Water Systems; Power Systems; Mathematical Modelling & Optimization; Machine Learning

Dr Sphiwe Emmanuel Mhlongo, is a senior lecturer at the Faculty of Science, Engineering, and Agriculture of the University of Venda.

Field(s) of Specialisation – Mine Closure and Rehabilitation, Abandoned Mines, Environmental Geology, Mine Environment Control/management.

Prof Thashree Marimuthu, is an Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology at the University of the Witwatersrand.

Field(s) of Specialisation – Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Chemistry.




New SAYAS Members 2019

Dr Munyaradzi Marufu is a Senior lecturer and Head of Section Production Animal Clinic: University of Pretoria. He is also a Y2 NRF rated researcher. Fields of Specialisation- Veterinary Parasitology and Production Animal Studies.

Dr Keagan Pokpas is a Lecturer & Senior Researcher at the University of the Western Cape, Science Faculty, Department of Chemistry, SensorLab. Fields of Specialisation- Electrochemistry, Nanochemistry, Graphene Chemistry, Paper-based Microfluidics, Analytical Chemistry, Calorimetry, Stripping Voltammetry, Metal Analysis.

Dr Moses Basitere is Senior lecturer: Chemical Engineering Department at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology. Fields of Specialisation- Water and wastewater Treatment and Engineering Education.

Prof Mzukisi Njotini is Associate Professor, Faculty of Law at the University of Johannesburg. Fields of Specialisation- Information and Communication Technology Law, Cyber-Security Law and Industry 4.0 and the Law.

Prof Rose Hayeshi is a biochemist by training with expertise in preclinical drug development and is currently an Associate Professor at the Preclinical Drug Development Platform, North-West University. She is also Good Laboratory Practice(GLP) Study Director at NWU. Fields of Specialisation- Biochemistry and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

A/Prof Sudesh Sivarasu is Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering at University of Cape Town and a member of the Global Young Academy.Fields of Specialisation- Biomedical Engineering, Medical Device Design and Orthopaedic Biomechanics.

Prof Tricia Naicker is Associate Professor and Director of the Catalysis and Peptide Research Unit, College of Health Sciences, Discipline of Pharmaceutical Science, University of KwaZulu Natal. She is also a Y NRF rated researcher.Fields of Specialisation- Medicinal Chemistry, Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Chemistry.

Dr Usisipho Feleni is Senior Lecturer at the Nanotechnology and Water Sustainability Research Unit (NanoWS), University of South Africa. Fields of Specialisation- Diagnostics sensors; electrocatalytic membranes; electroanalytical chemistry; electrochemical sensors; and nanoelectrochemistry.

Prof Willie Chinyamurindi is Associate Professor at the University of Fort Hare (Alice, campus) and lecturer in the Department of Business Management. He is also a Research Niche Area Leader for the Faculty of Management and Commerce, UFH. Fields of Specialisation- Human capital development and the use of qualitative research methods within the management sciences.

A/Prof Tjaart Kruger is Associate Professor at the University of Pretoria’s Department of Physics. He is also a Y1 NRF rated researcher. Fields of Specialisation- Photosynthetic light harvesting, Biophysics, Quantum Biology, Bio-inspired solar energy, single-molecule spectroscopy, ultrafast spectroscopy.