South African Young Academy of Science

Opportunities for Young Scientists


ASSAf – SAYAS Young Scientists Conference Announcement and Call for Abstracts 

Deadline – 13 July 2018

The Department of Science and Technology (DST), the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), the South African Young Academy of Science (SAYAS) and the Organisation for Women in Science for Developing World – South Africa National Chapter (OWSD-SANC) will be hosting the Annual Young Scientists’ Conference on 13 – 14 September 2018.

ASSAf, together with its partners, is seeking young scientists based in South Africa to participate in this conference. This multilateral conference will provide a platform for scientific exchange among senior and young scientists in addressing corruption which continues to hamper efforts aimed at promoting democratic governance, socio-economic transformation, peace and security, and the enjoyment of human rights on the African continent.

NEPAD SANBio / BioFISA Mobility grant is open 

Deadline – December 2018

NEPAD SANBio / BioFISA II Opportunity: Mobility grants to support regional and international travel and accommodation for individuals in the Biosciences field.

RUFORUM Young African Entrepreneurs Conference

Deadline -31 August March 2018

RUFORUM Young African Entrepreneurs Competition 2018. Open to African entrepreneurs and incubatees below 35 years of age.

OWSD Early Career Women Scientists Fellowships

Deadline -31 August 2018

OWSD Early Career Women Scientists Fellowship. For women who have completed their PhDs in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) subjects.

Nominations for the Sofja Kovalevskaja Award

Sofja Kovalevskaja Award for young research talents. Junior academics of all disciplines from abroad who completed their doctorates within the last six years are eligible apply. Award winners receive up to €1.65 million each. Deadline: 31 July 2018

MINDS 2018/2019 scholarship for leadership development

Mandela Institute for Development Studies (MINDS) 2018/2019 scholarship for leadership development. For Africans who wish to pursue post-graduate studies within Africa, outside of their own countries.

Call for Nomination for early career scientists for the AAS Affiliates Programme
The African Academy of Sciences (AAS) is inviting nominations for its Affiliates Membership Programme.
The programme aims to stimulate and nurture the spirit of scientific discovery and technological innovation in Africa in order to promote sustainable development on the continent through research and development. It is intended to fill a gap in the professional growth of young and early-to-mid career professionals who intend to develop into research leaders in their home countries.
The AAS Affiliates Programme is targeted at supporting African nationals who are aged 40 years or below, are employed in higher education or research institutions and have obtained their PhD within the last five years. Applicants must also have postdoctoral research experience. They may be in any field of specialisation and must be nominated by one of their institutional leaders (Vice Chancellor, Director, Head of Department, etc.) or by a Fellow or Associate Fellow of the AAS. Applicants may not nominate themselves.

Nominations are made online on the AAS Ishango Online System on or before 4 July 2018.


Apply for the FLAIR postdoctoral fellowships

Deadline -20 June 2018

The  African Academy of Sciences and the Royal Society, with support from the UK’s Global Challenges Research Fund are accepting applications for the sub-Saharan Africa grant scheme, Future Leaders – African Independent Researchers (FLAIR) Fellowships. The scheme offers postdoctoral fellowships to talented African early career researchers who have the potential to become leaders in their field to enable them to develop an independent research career in a sub-Saharan African institution.

To learn more:

To apply:

Scheme notes:

Conditions of the award:

The Third Hideyo Noguchi Africa Prize nominations open

Deadline -31 July 2018

The Hideyo Noguchi Africa Prize aims to honour individuals with outstanding achievements in the fields of medical research and medical services to combat infectious and other diseases in Africa, thus contributing to the health and welfare of the African people and of all humankind.
The Laureates will be announced in 2019 and the award ceremony will be held during the Seventh Tokyo International Conference on African Development (TICAD7).
Learn more:

Call for applications for the IMU Simons African Fellowship Programme

Deadline -1 June 2018

The programme supports research sabbaticals for mathematicians from African countries employed in Africa to travel to an internationally known mathematical centre of excellence/ university worldwide for collaborative research. Applications close on 1 June.