TWAS is seeking nominations for 2015 Prizes

The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) – For the advancement of science in developing countries is seeking nominations for the following prizes:

  • the TWAS 2015 Prizes
  • the TWAS- Celso Furtado 2015 Prize in Social Sciences

The TWAS 2015 Prizes will be awarded in recognition of an outstanding contribution to knowledge in the following eight fields of science: Agricultural Sciences, Biology, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Mathematics, Medical Sciences and Physics.

Candidates must meet at least one of the following qualifications:

  1. Scientific research achievement of outstanding significance for the development of scientific thought.
  2. Outstanding contribution to the application of Science and Technology to industry or to human well-being in a developing country.

Candidates for the TWAS-Celso Furtado Prize in Social Sciences must meet the following criterion: To have made an outstanding contribution in both understanding and addressing social sciences disciplines such as economics, political sciences and sociology.

In either cases candidates must be individual scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least ten years immediately prior to their nomination.

Each prize carries a monetary award of US$ 15,000 and a plaque bearing a citation highlighting the major contributions for which the prize is awarded.

The deadline for receiving nominations is 28 February 2015.

Further details on eligibility criteria and submission procedure are available online at:

TWAS 2015 Prizes
TWAS-Celso Furtado Prize in Social Sciences



© Copyright 2013 | SAYAS | South African Young Academy of Science | All rights reserved.